Whole30 Day 3!

If you’re asking yourself “Why is this nut job doing this? It seems pretty stupid to deprive yourself of such delicious food!”, please read below:

I eat real food – fresh, natural food like meat, vegetables and fruit.  I choose foods that are nutrient-dense, with lots of naturally occurring vitamins and minerals, over foods that have more calories but less nutrition.  And food quality is important – I’m careful about where my meat, seafood and eggs come from, and buy organic local produce as often as possible.

This is not a “diet” – I eat as much as I need to maintain strength, energy, activity levels and a healthy body weight.  I aim for well-balanced nutrition, so I eat both animals and a significant amount of plants.  I’m not lacking carbohydrates – I just get them from vegetables and fruits instead of bread, cereal or pasta.  And my meals are probably higher in fat than you’d imagine, but fat is a healthy source of energy when it comes from high-quality foods like avocado, coconut and grass-fed beef.

Eating like this is ideal for maintaining a healthy metabolism and reducing inflammation within the body.  It’s good for body composition, energy levels, sleep quality, mental attitude and quality of life.  It helps eliminate sugar cravings and reestablishes a healthy relationship with food.  It also works to minimize your risk for a whole host of lifestyle diseases and conditions, like diabetes, heart attack, stroke and autoimmune.

I’m on day 3.  I’m starting to crave sugar in a BIG way, but it might be because I was watching Samantha Who? last night on Netflix and they showed cupcakes, and a cupcake shop, and she drank juice and was drinking a lot of wine. The power of suggestion flew right into my brain and all I wanted to do was go out and get a cupcake and a glass of wine.  But I didn’t.  I went to sleep instead.  Because I wasn’t hungry! And I knew that if I cheated, I’d have to start ALL over again, and who wants to do that? Not me!

Now for the sucky parts: I’ve had a headache the entire time I’ve been doing this.  To be fair, I’ve had a headache for about a week.  I think it’s a combination of sleeping on my stomach, stress from the wedding and James’ brain surgery a few weeks ago, and from going back to work after two weeks off.  Plus eliminating sugar and bread probably has something to do with it.  But I’m sure that once I get to our vacation house early this evening to see my lovely fiance, all of that stress will melt away and I’ll feel great!

Awesome parts: I’m not bloated! I don’t have gas (and although I hate to admit this in a public forum, I’m generally a pretty gassy person. Not cute at all.) I feel amazing besides having a headache.  I have a lot of energy, I’m really loving everything I’ve been eating and I really really do not want to cheat.  It was just a fleeting moment.

I won’t be blogging for day 4 and 5, as I’ll be unplugged while I’m enjoying our vacation house, but I’ll definitely post an update when I get back.  James is doing this with me while he’s gone, so I won’t be tempted to eat bad things when I’m with him.  I’m really looking forward to talking to him about how he feels, too.

Here’s what I had for dinner last night. I’m eating the other half for lunch today:
grilled chicken, cucumber, olives, onion, carrots, avocado and baby spinach. 🙂

Here’s my breakfast for Day 3. So pretty and colorful!
Steam Sauteed broccoli, snap peas and bell pepper with 3 eggs. Yum!

Have a happy weekend, everyone!

 

Leave a Reply

