Duality

I recently read a post from one of my favorite bloggers (Camilla!) about city life and country life and it got me thinking about duality.  The definition is as follows:

du·al·i·ty  [doo-al-i-tee, dyoo-]  

noun

1. a dual state or quality.
2. Mathematics . a symmetry within a mathematical system such that a theorem remains valid if certain objects,relations, or operations are interchanged, as the interchange of points and lines in a plane in projective geometry.

I absolutely love duality when applied to my life.  James and I have our life in San Francisco.  City living in a great little neighborhood that feels like a suburb.  We can eat any type of food at any time of the day, we can go shopping at amazing stores for anything we’d ever dreamed of, and we have a city full of people to interact with.  We also have our life in Somerset.  Amazing country living with our huge vegetable garden, our beginning of an orchard, the pond with cute turtles, the lake across the street with geese and fish!  The closest decent grocery store is about 30 minutes away, there is no mall, the only restaurant near us just reopened and it’s a pub in the middle of wine country.  Very funny.  I can walk for miles without seeing a human being. Just horses, chickens, water buffalo and the cutest goat I’ve ever met in my life.  In San Francisco I’m connected to the world via my iPhone, my computer, my television… in Somerset the only connectivity we have is television and a land line.  We have no internet, our cell phones don’t really work.  I believe in this duality of life.  A place to be really busy with people and work and life… and a place to relax and care only about the fireplace, the garden and when my next 2 mile stroll with the dog will be.

It’s hard to stay healthy with such a stressful life.  Sometimes you really need to stop and make the best of your life.  If that’s buying a house in the country, great! If it’s going on a weekend trip away to Lake Tahoe every few months, even better. Don’t forget to stop and breathe.

One thought on “Duality

Leave a Reply

